Drunken Speculation

#2 Burleigh Brewing Hef

burleigh hefIf you’ve never been, Burleigh Heads is an extremely nice, if bit-too-popular, spot on the Gold Coast. It’s also the site of Burleigh Brewing. The Brisbane Times had a good run down on the background of the company and where it’s heading. Meanwhile, I will probably remember Burleigh for that time I did a really shitty park job that pissed off a local bogan when I got too close to his penile compensation.

The contrast between the locals and the (relative) sophistication of craft beer brewing is not lost on me, which brings us to Hef. Hef is short for hefeweizen – German wheat beer. Hef has it’s own website. Very upmarket. Burleigh Brewing’s description of Hef is

Unfiltered wheat beer brewed from only malted barley, malted wheat, water, hops and yeast. Burleigh HEF boasts the classic German wheat beer characteristics of banana and clove, rich flavours, a bright white head and a smooth, creamy texture. A refreshing, flavour-filled beer without being overpowering.

It talks about a bright white head. That’s there but it lasts all of three or four seconds. Once its gone, there’s bugger all trace on the glass that it was ever there. This does not tally with my experience of German beers. The beer is not highly carbonated. Its also a cloudy hefeweizen (unfiltered you say?) with a colour not dissimilar to apple juice. In fact, it looks like a cider.

Your other senses would tell you otherwise though. There’s a slight sour note but when you first crack the bottle, the only thing you can smell is banana. The cloves described above are a bit buried but I think Burleigh has weighed up the spiciness against their desire to not make the overall flavour “overpowering”. I think they’ve done the right thing without watering it down too much. It’s a bit sweet, leaving a sticky feeling in your mouth (wink-wink-nudge-nudge), and a bit yeasty and wheaty – its a German style wheat beer after all so its going to have those qualities.

That said, I’m going a bit easier on Hef than the straight up tasting (refer picture above) would suggest. I’ve had it before from the tap and its been a more positive experience than the one I’m having now. Yeah, I know, I’m straying from the strictly scientific method that this blog employs. But I liked it then and I like it now.

Summary

  • Website
  • Genre: Germano
  • Regionality: Burleigh Heads, QLD
  • Strength: 5.0%
  • Rating: 2 / 3 taste + 1.5 / 2 ancillaries = 3.5 / 5
  • Plus: Apparently, you can get it at Pindara Hospital at Benowa. Sounds very GC to me.
  • Minus: Bit on the heavy side, tastes better from the tap
