Drunken Speculation

Commitment

vlcsnap-2013-02-16-13h51m47s83I’ve decided to give home brewing a go. It’s happening and I’m terrified.

I still vividly remember my brief fling with assisting a specific type of yeast in reproducing anaerobically and then accidentally boiling the resultant liquid at a low temperature before inadvertently consuming the final product. It was all a misunderstanding. You can’t prove anything.

Actually, I was trying to make my own vodka back in my student days. Paying $3 for a litre of 30% vodka seemed like a good deal against $35 for a bottle of Smirnoff. Perhaps unsurprisingly, the actual product of the so-called Amazing Still was pretty awful.

As an example, I had a couple of friends over before we went out for a night on the town. I mixed up Long Island Iced Teas using the moonshine made in my garage. There were notes of nail polish remover in the aroma and one of my friends reported getting a numb mouth. It was that kind of bad. I think it was largely responsible for me failing three courses that year.

The moral of the story, besides investing a bit more than $10 in equipment if you’re going to do home brew, is that I appreciate that making beer (or spirits) is not an easy or straightforward process. While we might hand out low ratings to some beers on this blog, we’d probably have to invent an exponential scale to get my beers even in the same league. Even then, I’d probably still give my own beers negative scores.

Nonetheless, I’m looking forward to the challenge. This series, called Trials & Tribeerlations (see what I did there?), will hopefully be enlightening should anyone follow in my shaky footsteps, although I’m sure you could easily Google much better guides on how to do this.

I’ll let you know how I go.

2 comments

  1. Homebrews are the best! They’re almost always amazing. I’ve only accidentally made a few bad ones… but I may have been a bit overzealous in trying to incorporate wild ingredients like manzanita berries and mugwort. I’m passed that phase in my life now though.

    • I had to look up manzanita berries. I take it that didn’t go down too well? I’m inclined to get ahead of myself as well so I have to keep reminding myself that the first phase will be focusing on getting the basics right with starters kits. Not very exciting but small steps.

Comments are closed.

