Drunken Speculation

#13 Mildura Brewing Honey Wheat

mildura honey wheatI chanced across this on my maiden trip to the local Dan Murphy’s. Upon entry I was overawed by their craft beer selection, both the Australian and their international (mainly US) ranges. After three years of frequenting First Choice (it’s about 200m closer; convenience huh?!) I’d grown fairly accustomed to their range. As I regained my composure and tried not to do a series of air fist pumps, this cheeky six-pack caught my eye. I’ve not had a lot of honey beers, apart from the odd Beez Neez, so thought I’d have a crack with this one.

According to the website it’s

A soft and mellow beer with subtle wheat and honey flavors… Alongside the overtones of honey on the nose and palate, the wheat component contributes a light aromatic structure to the beer and a late hop addition of the German variety, Perle, lends a gentle spiciness.

On the pour the first thing I notice is it’s a lot lighter in colour than Matilda Bay’s version of honey wheat beer, Beez Neez, which you may be more familiar with. It’s clear and very light straw. It’s got a beautiful head and the honey aromas it’s emitting are almost blinding. It delivers the notes of ‘honey on the nose’ and packs it with punch. So sweet is the smell that I’m a little concerned. Smells like sampling day in the apiary section at my local show.

To taste, the flavors are very subtle, despite the aroma. As per the tasting notes, the honey flavor is subtle. I’m actually pretty surprised at the bitterness the brewers have managed to achieve with such a sweet-smelling brew. There is a hint of spiciness there with the hops towards the end too. As much as I hate agreeing with tasting notes, these are pretty spot on and what’s more, they don’t even sound all that wanky. (Just refrain from reading the actual bottle; I hate to use the word ‘corny’ but there’s not a more appropriate adjective.)

A pretty good effort by Mildura: delicious, enticing smell, delivers on taste, sessionable to boot and did I mention that head? Seriously, the bubbles won’t quit and the head’s staying strong to the end. Is it just me or does a beer always look better with a smothering of delicious white foam on top? Perhaps it’s just that a beer’s appearance without it is reminiscent of a beer gone hot.

I’d definitely give this beer a burl if you’re partial to the ol’ honey wheat or even if you’re not, it’s a great tasting and great looking beer.

Summary

  • Website
  • Genre: Fruit/Honey
  • Regionality: Mildura, VIC
  • Strength: 4.5%
  • Rating:  2.5 / 3 taste + 2 / 2 ancillaries = 4.5 / 5
  • Plus: Bitterness balances the sweetness
  • Minus: The flavors are deceivingly subtle compared with the aroma

One comment

  1. Love your work.
    I’m a big fan of Mildura, I love their Desert Lager and they make the only light beer which doesn’t taste like watered down VB. I’ve even given it to buddies without telling them it’s a light and you can almost get away with it.

Comments are closed.

