Drunken Speculation

Welsh Rarebit Sanger

Welsh Rarebit SandwichThe first time I had Welsh Rarebit I wasn’t a fan. I love, love, love toasted cheese like any normal human being but the mustard just really didn’t do it for me. It needed some meaty goodness to go with it.

The second reason I didn’t rate it was because I felt that for such a carb and saturated fat laden meal it really wasn’t as delicious as I’d hoped.

So in my take on the Welsh classic below, I’ve added pastrami, as well as a tomato and parsley salsa-of-sorts to freshen it up a bit. I hope you enjoy.

What you need:

Rarebit

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 300g grated tasty cheese
  • ½ cup ale
  • ½ teaspoon mild English mustard
  • Pepper

Sandwich

  • 12 bread slices
  • Olive oil
  • 8 Pastrami slices
  • 2 tomatoes
  • Parsley

What to do:

Rarebit

Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat and add the cheese, stirring until melted over a low heat. Pour in the ale and add the mustard. Season with pepper. Bring the mixture up to near boiling point, then remove from the heat and prepare sandwiches.

Sandwich

Drizzle bread slices with olive oil and grill or pan fry until crisp and golden. Dice tomatoes and finely chop the parsley, then combine. Assemble sandwich with two layers of fried bread, pastrami, tomato mixture. Top with an extra slice of bread. Place on a tray lined with foil and pour over a generous amount of the rarebit mixture. Brown under a hot grill.

Serve immediately with a cold one!

