Drunken Speculation

#28 Burleigh Brewing 28 Pale Ale

burleigh 28 pale aleThat’s not the usual glassware I use for the review photos. Unfortunately, the schooners are unwashed and I am presently engaged in a battle with my housemates over doing the dishes. My position is that I should wash what I use. Their position seems to be that they’re not going to wash any dishes at all. Obviously, this will be difficult to reconcile, especially as I am a not very confrontational person. The only winner is likely to be the mould, which to be fair, already has a pretty solid foothold in this house. That’s why it’s called the crack den.

But we’re not here to discuss my living arrangements. We’re here to look at a second effort from Burleigh Brewing (the first being Hef #2): their 28 Pale Ale. It’s also #28 – how coincidental is that? Not at all because I planned it that way.

The label doesn’t offer much help in terms of what to expect:

The 70s brought us two momentuous events: a new style of Pale Ale and a perfect, 28-day-swell at Burleigh Heads. The beer lives on in 28 Pale Ale.

Well that’s just great. The website is a bit more informative:

American-style pale ale boasting a deep amber colour and a fragrant bouquet. 28 Pale Ale is a medium bodied beer with masterfully balanced hoppiness. A flavourful beer with a complex, fruity character – citrus, grapefruit, passionfruit and lychee notes.

When I pour the beer into my glass, a decent head forms. It’s not a strong foam and, unlike Burleigh Beach after a storm, the head disappears pretty quickly. The colour is a strong gold and clear as a bell. There is a fruity aroma. I doubt I could narrow it down to the specific fruits as Burleigh have done. I guess it would be lazy of me to say it’s citrus. Wait, isn’t grapefruit a type of citrus? It’s pleasant though, it reminds me of Little Creatures Pale Ale.

Last time I made that comparison, the review didn’t go well. Or anywhere for that matter. I’d put it to one side but the taste is pretty similar too. It has the same hoppy characteristics but not the same hops and the balance isn’t quite as good. The 28 Pale Ale is a bit drier and more bitter too. It is, as the tasting notes suggest, a medium bodied beer and pretty flavourful.

Overall, the 28 Pale Ale is a good beer. It has plenty of positive things going for it. The flavours, the aroma and the packaging (nice label) in particular. As a pale ale, it’s quite sessionable. On the other hand, there isn’t much to distinguish this beer from the pack. Superficially, it’s quite similar to Little Creatures Pale Ale and the 28 doesn’t have any aspects that would raise it higher in my estimation.

Summary

  • Website
  • Genre: Pale ale
  • Regionality: Gold Coast, QLD
  • Strength: 4.8%
  • Rating: 2 / 3 taste + 1.5 / 2 ancillaries = 3.5 / 5
  • Plus: A very nice American pale ale.
  • Minus: Quite similar to the Little Creatures effort.
