Drunken Speculation

#58 Moon Dog Jumping the Shark 2013

This post is part of Crazy Cellar Clearout Week, where we review some of the beers in our cellar so we can start 2014 fresh. You can see all the beers we’ve reviewed in 2013 here.

20131125_174858To say I’m a bit excited about this one would be an understatement. It’d be the first single bottle of beer I’ve purchased over the $20 mark so, in any event, my expectations are high.

Now, maybe I didn’t look hard enough (which is highly probable), but I can’t seem to track down tasting notes for this beer from Moon Dog themselves to compare with my drinking experience but hey, they’re kind of charting new territory here so I guess it’s okay.

Here are some of the specs though:

The head presents a beautiful dark foaminess atop a decadently dark and velvety beer. It’s colour is like a long black but it’s form more smooth, dense and alluring as I swish it around in my glass.

It’s aroma is overwhelmingly sweet, reeking of alcholic pungency. (You know you’ll need to take it slow with this one.) Thereare notes of rich chocolate with subtle roasty coffee undertones.

On the palate, they’ve done well to mask the 15.4% ABV and it’s quite bitter with it’s prominent chocolate and malt characters. It’s also got this weird, unexpected kind of acidity to it that also helps to permeate the richness and sweetness of it all. I’m not entirely sure what to attribute it to though. Hell, this is an interesting beer!

The intense richness of this beer is in a class of its own and must be attributed to the truffles. (I’ve not had too many dishes with truffles in but in my limited experience they add a certain richness to the food. Kind of like butter on crack.) It also adds an incredibly smooth, velvety mouthfeel to the beer which verges on oily.

But it doesn’t end there. As it warms up, there’re more flavours to be found. The sweetness starts to have a fruitiness about it and strong aniseed notes come to the fore.

Mind blown.

Summary

  • Website
  • Genre: Porter/Stout
  • Regionality: Abbotsford, VIC
  • Strength: 15.4%
  • Rating: 2.5 / 3 taste + 1.5 / 2 ancillaries = 4 / 5
  • Plus: Truffles. In beer.
  • Minus: It’s overarching richness is just a touch too much.
