Drunken Speculation

MR | Final Edition, 2013

b2c8235a580611e3aed6123e9ac62c25_8Last week on our blog was Crazy Cellar Clearout Week and we managed to put a big dent in it with seven beers in seven days:

Getting through the two big stouts (#58 and #61) was an effort but we got there in the end, although the whole exercise was rendered a bit pointless by the subsequently purchased beers. I’m sure we’ll be bringing back CCCW next year, because even if it’s not a lot of fun to read, it is a lot of fun to put together. You can see the 2013 Full Review List here.

Which brings us to this, our last week of blogging for the year. In the pipeline are the posts you expect at this time of year: lazy, list-based, best-of 2013 articles. I had considered setting up an awards week for Best Brewery/Venue/Beer but I assumed no one would really be proud of winning a “Drunkie”.

In other news:

Actually, given this is the last Monday Reading for 2013, I thought I’d take a different tack from the usual summary of last week’s most interesting blog posts. This week, I want to point you to other blogs which will fill the gaping void in your existence while Drunken Speculation is on a four week summer break.

These blogs – as opposed to borderline-news agencies, like The ShoutCrafty Pint and Australian Brews News – made significant contributions to Monday Reading over the year, for which I am very grateful (I especially appreciate not receiving any snippy emails about spammy pingbacks). I strongly recommend you check them out over the next month and then return to us and rely on me to filter their less good from their really good posts.

Australia

North America

UK

Europe

If all of that’s not enough, there is the Ale of a Time podcast. I generally don’t bother with podcasts but I made an exception as this very blog got an awesome shoutout (around about 17 minutes in).

That brings to a close Monday Reading for 2013. While we’re on a break, we’ll be working on ways to improve the blog, so if you have any feedback on what you want to see or how you think Monday Reading (or Drunken Speculation in general) could be better, let us know in the comments, on Twitter or drop me an email.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for including me on your list! It’s been fun reading your writing. But we do much more than stuff about Belgian beer. We talk about American beers…of Belgian style. We talk about New Zealand beers…of Belgian style. We talk about German beers. Did I mention we do Belgian beer too?

      • It was funny. I thought I had a fairly balanced thing going on. But as more and more blogs began to list me as a place for Belgian beer information, I kind of had to face the fact that my subconscious was trying to tell me: the blog should mostly be about Belgian stuff!

Comments are closed.

