Drunken Speculation

Drunken Speculation Votes

h100Like every other blogging Tom, Dick and Harry, we at Drunken Speculation have lodged our five votes each in the Local Taphouse’s Hottest 100 Australian Craft Beers. With a bit more drinking experience under our belts compared to last year, narrowing down the approximately 550 beers we’ve had to a shortlist of five Australian beers each was always going to be a tough ask.

Nonetheless, we’ve managed to do it. ammo scoured her Untappd checkins and managed to screen it down to a select few. I took a less (or more, depending on your point of view) cerebral route and selected beers that had had a memorable impact on my 2013.

You can see what we’ve voted for below:

mountain goat summer ale

ammo

My five votes went to, in no particular order:

Mountain Goat Summer Ale

For me it’s like a more sessionable version of one of my favourite styles, the American pale ale; fruity and generously hopped, what more could you ask for this Australia day!

Little Creatures IPA

I immediately fell in love with this beer upon my first sip and it’s one that I keep going back to in spite of the endless quest for unique Untappd check-ins.

BrewCult Acid Freaks Balsamic Baltic Porter

Even though this wasn’t my number one beer at GABS, it was nevertheless a memorable one for me. I’m voting for it because it was a beer that surprised me not, least because of how much I actually liked it with its well-balanced vinegary-ness but also because of the creativity behind it.

Burleigh Hef

It’s not my favourite style but I always enjoy Burleigh’s take on the German classic.

McLaren Vale Australian Pale Ale

Australian pale ales aren’t really my thing but here’s the exception to the rule. McLaren have a great range of quality beers and this is my pick of the bunch.

holgate mt macedon

Liam

My five votes went to, in no particular order:

Holgate Brewhouse Mt Macedon Ale

Of the three five-star reviews I did last year, Holgate’s Mt Macedon is the one I remain confident is still a great, sessionable beer.

Mountain Goat Summer Ale

Refer above.

Bridge Road Brewers Harvest

A beer that really got me into well balanced hoppy beers and caused a lupulin shift, as detailed in my Sierra Nevada Pale Ale review.

Noisy Minor Yastrebov Imperial Stout

#voteyastrebov

Two Metre Tall Aromatic Spelt Ale

I had this Tassie farmhouse beer at the Gertrude during Good Beer Week and it’s stuck with me all year. Sour, refreshing and tasty.

That’s us but who did you vote for? And who’s going to take out top spot in this year’s countdown?

