Drunken Speculation

MR | Second Edition, May 2014

laurenstendamLast week on Drunken Speculation, ammo talked about her month off from booze (madness, I say!) and I look at a Danish ale for people with the same cultural cachet as emos.

I had a few dry days myself last week while my co-blogger was gallivanting around Hobart. ammo’s Beer of the Week was Moo Brew Dark Ale, although the Iron House Porter came a close second. As she said on another Moo Brew check-in, “You’ve had it, you know what it’s like, but it’s better in Tassie.”

To Tweet of the Week!

I’m getting excited with Good Beer Week just around the corner. It’s also good to see more breweries from up here supporting Pint of Origin. Last year, we had the choice of Burleigh Brewing and Bacchus. Solid breweries but we have more as a state to offer.

Incidentally, due to the Giro d’Italia, I may have to discontinue Tweet of the Week until June. I’m sick of having stage results ruined for me by social media.

Moving on, what did others have to say last week?

Brews and Bacon – My story

On June 15th, I’ll be running with other members of the craft beer community to help raise money for the Australian Cancer Research Foundation. Every runner has a reason for entering. Some want to prove to themselves they can do it and others run for loved ones they’ve lost or are fighting with a condition. My reason is pretty simple. I am running to keep him proud of me. Every step of that 14km will be my way of remembering him. I’ll be doing something for others, but having fun doing it with friends. That’s how he would have wanted it.

I’ll be writing his initials on my shirt on race day so he will be there the whole way. Anyone who wants to add initials to the shirt of loved ones who are battling, have lost the battle, or won their battle, with cancer, please feel free to email me at jason@brewsandbacon.com

250 Beers – Alright Jimmie, I’m in

Jim from Tippler’s Tap sent out a call-to-arms email to Brisbane’s craft beer community last month suggesting support. My initial reaction was “Yes! I’ll get involved.” This was followed by the realisation that my 37 year-old legs haven’t moved faster than a fast walk (Kel Knight style) for maybe 11 years. I’ve spoken to Jim about joining the team on a number of occasions and he finally twisted my arm last week care of some encouraging words.

You can support my fellow bloggers’ efforts by donating money HERE. Next time you walk up to a bar to order an inordinately expensive beer, you should consider sending some of that money their way. Then actually do that. No one’s going to cure cancer with good thoughts and Facebook likes.

Now to an equally considerably less sad story…

Brewed, Crude and Bitter – An Open Letter to a Beer Thief

Now just in case you’d forgotten already what the thief title refers to (I know you must have a very busy life) let me refresh your memory. Last Wednesday – probably between drowning kittens and getting your own name tattooed to your chest in a gothic font – you entered my garage and helped yourself to three cartons of my beer. Three of the five cartons I won as part of The Hottest 100 Craft Beer poll a few months ago. Didn’t you even read the blog?

When you stole those cartons, you stole a part of me.

Literature & Libation – The Caped Brewsader: How Craft Beer Might Save the World

As a result of our inborn desire for meaning, Millennials have helped to rejuvenate the cottage industries through the likes of Pinterest and Etsy; brought homemade and handcrafted out of County Fair obscurity, back into the self-wrought prime time of legitimate goods. Creating things by hand gives purpose, a tangible product that acts as an extension of self-worth, proof of a secular reason for our existence. Our generation naturally gravitates towards artisinal and artesian not because of marketing, or the condescending, popular idea of ironic hipsterism, but because these products – the ones that at the very least have a veneer of being lovingly crafted – resonate deeply in our emotional and psychological core.

I need more time to process this but Oliver may have hit onto something here, although it’s perhaps less saving the world and more reforming the economy. Much mulling to do.

This is Why I’m Drunk – He Said What? Pete Coors and His Magical Mystery Press Tour

Just to be clear, used car sales are up. New car sales are up. Home sales are up. There is additional money to be spent.

What got me was his acknowledgment that Coors products apparently aren’t something that people think has value. Pete Coors seems to intimate he thinks Coors has value, but consumers don’t. Especially those pesky Millennials, who are making the world very different and won’t get off his lawn.

Stouts and Stilettos – Drinking at Disneyland – An Easy Guide

Now, if you’re looking to be fully immersed in the Disney experience while you enjoy some brews, I highly recommend you spend some time at Disney’s California Adventure. California Adventure recently underwent a huge renovation, and it looked totally different since the last time I was there 10 years ago. The coolest addition was undoubtedly Carsland. It’s a section of the park that is built to look just like Radiator Springs from the Pixar film “Cars.” Plus, all of the building are functional including Flo’s V8 Café! Here you can purchase beer from Bear Republic Brewing Company. I of course ordered the appropriately themed pint of Racer 5.

Drinking at Disneyland? That’s…that’s a thing?

Brew Tas – Peter Dudgeon: brewer, publican and delinquent goat owner

Then in early 1827 Dudgeon was in the news for something else completely. His goat managed to escape and wreck the garden of a poor man called Turner. Turner impounded the goat asking for 10 shillings to cover the damages to his garden. Dudgeon refused but somehow managed to pinch it back from the pound. The goat, in classic goat style, escaped again and this time destroyed Turner’s cabbages!

If that title didn’t make you click the link, then Monday Reading may as well pack up shop now.

WaPo – Raising a glass to the booming alcohol industry

“It’s a small practice area, though it seems like now there are more people getting into it,” he said. “Part of it is because there are so many small suppliers that the proliferation of lawyers who specialize in this area seems to have increased greatly.”

When Sorini first started attending the annual Craft Brewers Conference in 1998, attendance barely reached 2,000 people — and he was one of only two lawyers there. The conference now attracts about 9,000 people, and is teeming with lawyers, he said.

Other highlights included:

Anything I missed?

