Drunken Speculation

MR | First Edition, August 2013

1857f848fbb511e2815722000a1fa518_7Last week on our blog:

I must admit to being just a teency bit proud of my Sessions post last week. It’s not often that a piece of writing comes together exactly as you hope but when it does, it’s satisfying – even if it is campy as hell and you technically broke the rules of the Session. Unfortunately, some of the other responses I’ve read missed the point: pitching a concept to a stranger in an elevator is a scenario to get you thinking. The point was not about hassling people but to deliver a concise and cogent argument for why you like the beer you like. Pretty simple stuff.

Here are the other highlights from last week:

In other news: GQ Guide to Naming Babies; The beauty of cycling; Sayings 2.0; and drunkest DC intern ever loses shoe while stalking Paul Ryan

4 comments

  1. Joshua

    Yes, session blogging is pretty simple stuff…..IF you keep to the set rules i.e. under 250 words!! 🙂

  2. I agree. My Session had nothing to do with whether or not you feel it’s right to talk to someone in an elevator about their beer choice.

    I guess I complicated it too much with the elevator pitch metaphor. Maybe I should have kept it to simply: “tell me why beer is great in 250 words”…but I wanted to also challenge everyone to use those 250 words smartly, efficiently and with high impact. Instead, that got lost down the elevator shaft. Oh well.

    Nonetheless, you spun out a fine piece of writing for it!

    Any plans to host yourself?

    • Yeah, I’d like to do a bit of a re-brand, smarten the place up a bit and as the end part of that process, host a Session. Gives me plenty of time to think of an idea.

Comments are closed.